Election Process Change Due to Declaration of Emergency: Mail in Ballots Only

Due to recent concerns regarding the COVID-19 Pandemic, all Tribal events where large gatherings of people occur have been cancelled. Tribal Council held a Special Meeting on March 19, 2020 and passed Resolution 20-019 Declaring State of Emergency due to COVID-19 Pandemic.
At the March 19, 2020 Special Meeting, Tribal Council also passed Resolution 20-020 to amend Chapter 7-3 Elections to restrict the April 12, 2020, Tribal Chief Election to mail ballot only. This resolution affects only the current election as it is a temporary emergency amendment of Tribal Code Chapter 7-3.
During this 2020 Chief Election, the Tribal Hall polling location will be closed. This Election will be done by mail only. Do not drop ballots off at Tribal offices.
All ballots must be mailed in the envelope provided in the ballots and be received no later than Saturday, April 11, 2020. The Election Board will work with Isler CPA to certify the results on Saturday, April 11, 2020, and the results will be announced at the Regular Council Meeting on April 12, 2020.
The polling location at Tribal Hall will not be open on Sunday, April 12, 2020.

Current Candidates for the 2020 Tribal Election

Doc Slyter Candidate Statement

Deadline to file Statement of Candidacy

March 13, 2020

Deadline for Position Statement for inclusion in the Voice of CLUSI Tribal Newsletter

February 15, 2020 for inclusion in March edition
March 13, 2020 for inclusion in April edition

All position statements received by the deadline will be included in the Election Ballot mailing


Due to recent health concerns, all candidate forums have been cancelled.

2020 Election Information

7-3-21 Election of Tribal council and Tribal Chief Term of Office/Election Date
(a) Article VIII, Section 3 of the Tribal Constitution provides:
(2) The Tribal Chief shall be elected for a ten (10) year term
7-3-24 Candidacy Procedures
Statements of Candidacy: Candidates shall file statements of candidacy no later than thirty (30) days before the scheduled date of the election (Deadline for Statement of Candidacy is March 13, 2020) and shall stipulate which position he/she is filing for. 7-2-24 (1)(3)...once a person has filed for a position, he will not be allowed to change positions or to withdraw and refile for the same election.
7-3-24(b) Public Notices and Position Statements
(b)(3)...Candidates will be given the opportunity to present a Position Statement for inclusion in the February, March or April Tribal Newsletter. The statement must be submitted before the paper's deadline and shall be no longer than one (1) sheet of 8-1/2" x 11" paper printed on both sides, capable of being copied on a black and white copier.
For complete Election Code please see see the Ch 7-3 Elections or contact Jeannie McNeil at jmcneil@ctclusi.org or call (541) 888-7506.

Message from the Election Board

2020 Tribal Chief Election Ballots will be mailed ONLY to all registered voters.
Please register to vote. If you have registered in the past, they are only good for ten (10) years.
Please contact Jeannie McNeil for questions @ 541-888-7506
Thank you, the Election Board Chair

The Tribal Council is made up of 6 Council and a Chief. Voted on by the General Council. Council serves terms 4 years, Chief serves 10 years.

The next election will occur on April 12, 2020. This election will be for Tribal Chief. Candidates shall file Statements of Candidacy no later than March 13, 2020.
To find requirements to run for office, you can find information in: Tribal Code 7-3-21 through 7-3-24.
>>Be a duly enrolled member of the Confederated Tribes; >>Be at least twenty-one (21) years of age; and >>Never have been previously removed from office for good cause after the date the Tribal Constitution was ratified. (May 23, 1987).

The next Elections are: 2020, 2022, and 2023

2020 - Term of Office: April 11, 2010 - April 12, 2020
      • Chief - Warren Brainard

2022 - Term of Office: April 8, 2018 - April 10, 2022
      • Position 2 - Debbie Bossley
      • Position 4 - Josh Davies
      • Position 6 - Doug Barrett

2023 - Term of Office: April 14, 2019 - April 9, 2023
      • Position 1 - Doc Slyter
      • Position 3 - Mark Petrie
      • Position 5 - Iliana Montiel